Resource Toolkit

Resource Toolkit for Rescues and Sanctuaries

 “We are confident that our list of tools and resources for equine rescuers is the most comprehensive of its kind.”

Existing Tools

Adoption Listings:

Petfinder petfinder.com
A Home for Every Horse: equine.com/Rescue-Horses.html
Rescue Me!: rescueme.org
Retired Racehorse Project: www.retiredracehorseproject.org/ottb-horses-for-sale/general-listings

Animal Management and Equine Business Software:

Animal Shelter Manager: sheltermanager.com/site/en_home.html
Animal Shelter Net: animalshelternet.com/
ARK Software: arksoftware.com/
Equine Genie (horse business management software): equinegenie.com/
iShelters: ishelters.com/
Jockey Club Horse Farm Management System: horsefarmmanagementsoftware.com/
Paddock Pro: paddockpro.com/
PetPoint: petpoint.com/
Petstablished: petstablished.com/
RescueConnection: rescueconnectionsoftware.com/
Rescuegroups.org: www.rescuegroups.org/
Stable Secretary (business and health records): stablesecretary.com/
Shelter Buddy shelterbuddy.com
TrackABeast: trackabeast.com/index.htm

Crowd Funding:

Crowd101.com provides an analysis of crowdfunding sites: www.crowd101.com.  In addition this Outcollaborate Blog gives a good review of best sites by niche: www.wrike.com/blog/26-top-crowdfunding-sites-by-niche/.  Included in this list are the platforms that are better suited to nonprofit use and those that do not require all-or-nothing campaigns.

Causes: causes.com
CauseVox: causevox.com/
Classy (only for nonprofits): classy.org
Crowdrise: crowdrise.com
Fundly: fundly.com/
FundRazr: fundrazr.com/
GiveForward: giveforward.com/
Go Fund Me: gofundme.com
Go Get Funding: gogetfunding.com 
iGive: igive.com
Razoo: razoo.com/p/nonprofits
YouCaring: youcaring.com/

Education and Outreach Tools:

Alison (education site with free business, personal development, and technology courses): alison.com

Books on care, training, etc. horseandriderbooks.com/

Charitable Registries:
Charity Navigator charitynavigator.org/
GuideStar guidestar.org/Home.aspx

Ebooks – digitalbookindex.org/_search/search010animalshorsesa.asp

Email marketing software – Capterra provides an extensive list and comparison of dozens of email marketing software products: capterra.com/email-marketing-software/. These are three of the most popular products with a range of pricing including Mail Chimp with a start-up plan free for up to 2,000 subscribers:
Constant Contact: constantcontact.com
iContact: icontact.com
Mail Chimp: mailchimp.com

Horse Expos – HorseChannel provides an extensive equine events calendar that lists all of the major horse expos, festivals and shows: horsechannel.com/horse-calendar-events/

Media – Use this Media Search Page to find media outlets: congressweb.com/awi/media

Online Publications with educational archives:
Equisearch: Equisearch.com
HorseChannel: horsechannel.com
Natural Horse: naturalhorse.com/
TheHorse: TheHorse.com

Retired Racehorse Project Resource Directory: retiredracehorseproject.org/resources

Social Media Platforms – most have specific sites or programs geared to nonprofits:
Facebook for nonprofits (new website launched by Facebook to assist nonprofits with their FB use and engagement): nonprofits.fb.com/
GCF LearnFree tutorials on all of the major social media channels: gcflearnfree.org/popular
Google for Nonprofits: google.com/nonprofits/
Linkedin for Nonprofits: nonprofits.linkedin.com/
Social Media Examiner: socialmediaexaminer.com/
Social Media for Nonprofits: www,socialmedia4nonprofits.org/
Twitter Nonprofits: twitter.com/nonprofits
YouTube Nonprofit Program: youtube.com/nonprofits

VetTechnicians.org: vettechnicians.org (extensive digital library of learning resources)

Webinars – The following websites provide hundreds of free webinars relevant to nonprofits:
Animal Sheltering: animalsheltering.org/
ASPCA Pro: aspcapro.org/
Charity How To: charityhowto.com/
Digital Learn: digitallearn.org/ (extensive list of computer tutorials)
Homes for Horses Coalition: homesforhorses.org/webinararchive/
Humane Society Academy: humanesociety.org/about/departments/humane-society-academy/
Network for Good: networkforgood.com/webinars/
Nonprofit Hub: nonprofithub.org/webinars/
Nonprofit Tech for Good: nptechforgood.com/
TechSoup: techsoup.org/

Professional Development Training for equine rescues and sanctuaries:
The Homes for Horses Coalition Webinar Series: homesforhorses.org/webinararchive/
The Homes for Horses Coalition conference: bit.ly/2017horseconference

Technology Training:
GCF Learn Free: gcflearnfree.org/computers
Microsoft Digital Literacy (free technology courses ranging from basic computer operation to building apps): microsoft.com/en-us/DigitalLiteracy
Nonprofit Tech Academy (Nine week program for nonprofits): nten.org/events/nonprofit-tech-academy/

Fundraising/Donor and Asset Management Software:

Donorperfect: donorperfect.com/
Donorsnap: donorsnap.com/
EveryAction (Change marketing and fundraising CRM): everyaction.com/
FileMaker Pro (Contact and asset management): filemaker.com/
Frontstream GiftWorks: frontstream.com/
Kindful: kindful.com
Network for Good: networkforgood.com/products/donor-management/
Salesforce database: salesforce.com
Software4Nonprofits (bookkeeping/donor management): software4nonprofits.com/
Sumac (nonprofit managegment): sumac.com

Existing Resources:

Accrediting Organizations:

American Sanctuary Association: asaanimalsanctuaries.org/
GFAS: sanctuaryfederation.org/
Thoroughbred Aftercare Alliance: thoroughbredaftercare.org/

 Advocacy:

ASPCA Advocacy Center: aspca.org/take-action/advocacy-center
ASPCA Horse Action team: secure.aspca.org/form/join-aspca-horse-action-team
Animal Legal Defense Fund: aldf.org/about-us/
AWI Horse Slaughter Prevention: awionline.org/content/safeguard-american-food-exports-safe-act
Compassion Index: compassionindex.org
Faunalytics (Formerly Humane Research Council): faunalytics.org
Humane Society Legislative Fund Humane Scorecard: hslf.org/our-work/humane-scorecard.html#.VpfcmPkrJhE
HSUS Horse Slaughter Tool Kit: humanesociety.org/issues/horse_slaughter/tips/slaughter_toolkit.html
HSUS Horse Soring Tool Kit: humanesociety.org/issues/tenn_walking_horses/tips/soring_toolkit.html
Taking Action for Animals: regonline.com/builder/site/Default.aspx?EventID=1297443
The Library of Congress (online info. about current and past legislation, U.S. Code, legislative calendars and congressional floor schedules): congress.gov/
State Horse Councils: sites.google.com/site/cshcsite/Connections

Cruelty/Neglect contact your local government to see who covers abuse in your community.

Hoarding of Animals Research Consortium: vet.tufts.edu/hoarding/
Local Law Enforcement Agencies: courtsystem.org
Michigan Animal Law Center: animallaw.info/
National Animal Abuse Database: pet-abuse.com/
National Animal Care & Control Association (NACA): nacanet.org/
National District Attorneys Association: ndaa.org/animal_cruelty.html
National Sheriffs Association (NSA): sheriffs.org/
State Laws, Codes & Statutes: aldf.org/resources/advocating-for-animals/animal-protection-laws-of-the-united-states-of-america-and-canada/
USDA Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (enforces the Animal Welfare Act): aphis.usda.gov/aphis/home/

Grants and Other Sources of Funding:

AAEP Foundation: foundation.aaep.org/grants-i-19.html?osCsid=ns892fajjvkl57gpm4rg3rm074
After the Finish Line (Thoroughbreds): afterthefinishline.org/
Albert Schweitzer Animal Welfare Fund: schweitzerfund.org/
AHIMSA Foundation (no website)
Amazon Smile: smile.amazon.com/gp/aw/ch/about
American Horse Rescue Network: americanhorserescuenetwork.org/grants/
American Humane Association: americanhumane.org/program/grants-awards/
Animal Assistance Foundation (CO): aaf-fd.org/
Animal Disaster Funding: animaldisasterfunding.org/
ASPCA Equine Fund: aspcapro.org/equine-fundraising-grants
Bernice Barbour Foundation: bernicebarbour.org/
Best Friends: network.bestfriends.org/savethemallgrants
Binky Foundation: binkyfoundation.org/binky_foundation_grants.html
Blue Horse Charities: bluehorsecharities.org/
Brennan Equine Welfare Fund: brennanequinewelfarefund.com
Build-A-Bear Foundation: buildabear.com/html/en_US/aboutus/community/2014BKPGrantGuidelines.pdf
CARMA (CA-Thoroughbreds): carma4horses.org/about/carma-grants
Combined Federal Campaign: opm.gov/combined-federal-campaign/
Corporation for National & Community Service: nationalservice.gov/
The Dietrich W. Botsiber Foundation (PA): botstiber.org/animals/index.html
The Doris Day Animal Foundation: ddaf.org
Emily Vernon Foundation (no website)
Equus Foundation: equusfoundation.org/
Heart of a Horse Foundation: heartofahorse.org/about/about-hoah/
Horse Aid Live: horseaidlive.org/grants.html
Ian Somerhalder Foundation: isfoundation.com/welcome
Kenneth Scott Charitable Trust: kennethscottcharitabletrust.org/
Laura J. Niles Foundation, Inc. ljniles.org/
Local Community Foundations (specific to locale)
Minnesota Horse Council: mnhorsecouncil.org/grant-application-procedures.php
One Horse At a Time: onehorseatatime.org/available-assistance.html
Park Foundation: parkfoundation.org/animal_welfare_grants.html
Petco Foundation: petco.com/petco-foundation
Petfinder Foundation Disaster Grants: www.petfinderfoundation.com/for-shelters/apply-for-a-grant/
PetSmart Charities Emergency Relief: petsmartcharities.org/grants/
The Harmony Equine Welfare Fund (assistance in CO and AZ)
The Summerlee Foundation: summerlee.org/
Thoroughbred Aftercare Alliance: thoroughbredaftercare.org/
Thoroughbred Charities of America: tca.org
USA Equestrian Trust: trusthorses.org
USDA Community Facilities Direct Loan & Grant Program: rd.usda.gov/programs-services/community-facilities-direct-loan-grant-program
US Trotting Association’s Support Our Standardbred’s Program (SOS): lifeafterracing.ustrotting.com/Support-Our-Standardbreds.cfm
Voluntary State Income Tax donation programs for horse rescues (CO, NM)
William and Charlotte Parks Foundation for Animal Welfare and Protection: parksfoundation.org/

Other Grant Information/Resources:

Animal Grantmakers: animalgrantmakers.org/
The Foundation Center (grant search and education): foundationcenter.org
GrantStation (grant search and education): grantstation.com/
The Grantsmanship Center (map tool to find funding by geographic area): tgci.com/funding-sources

 Insurance:

American Equine Insurance Group: americanequine.com/
Best Friends Animal Rescue Insurance Guide: bestfriends.org/resources/for-shelters-and-rescuers/animal-rescue-insurance
Fry’s Equine Insurance: frysequineinsurance.com/
Nonprofits Insurance Alliance Group: insurancefornonprofits.org
The Equestrian Group-Brent Allen: eqgroup.com/eqprod.htm
USRider (roadside assistance): usrider.org/

Local Networking and Outreach:

American Association of Fundraising Professionals Local chapters
Chamber of Commerce
Local Networking Groups
Meetups: meetup.com/
Rotary
State and Local Non-Profit Associations

 Misc.:

Cooperative Extension programs (ex. North Carolina Regional Equine Information Network System (REIN))
Equine Lameness Prevention Organization: lamenessprevention.org/
Smartphone Apps for Horses:
10 cool apps: heavenlygaitsequinemassage.com/10-cool-smartphone-apps-horse-lovers/
Body condition scoring apps: articles.extension.org/pages/71173/body-condition-scoring-apps-for-horses

National Animal Welfare Organizations:

ALDF: aldf.org
American Association of Equine Practitioners (AAEP): aaep.org/
American Humane Association: americanhumane.org/
American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA): avma.org/KB/Resources/Reference/AnimalWelfare/Pages/animal-welfare-equids.aspx
ASPCA: aspca.org
AWI: awionline.org
Best Friends Animal Society: bestfriends.org
The Homes for Horses Coalition: homesforhorses.org
The HSUS: hsus.org
The Unwanted Horse Coalition: unwantedhorsecoalition.org/

National Equine Therapies Certifications/Accreditations:

American Hippotherapy Association: americanhippotherapyassociation.org/
Equine Assisted Growth and Learning Association (EGALA): eagala.org/
National Association of Certified Professionals of Equine Therapy: nacpet.org/
Pet Partners (nonprofit registering handlers of multiple species as volunteer teams providing Animal-Assisted Interactions): petpartners.org/
Professional Association of Therapeutic Horsemanship International (PATH Intl.): pathintl.org/

Nonprofit Management/Marketing/Fundraising Assistance:

AFP (Association of Fundraising Professionals): afpnet.org/splash.cfm
Asking Matters (fundraising training): askingmatters.com/
Blue Avocado: blueavocado.org
BoardSource: boardsource.org/
CharityHowTo: charityhowto.com/index.php
Charity Village: charityvilliage.com/
Foundation Center: foundationcenter.org
Network for Good: networkforgood.com/
Nonprofit Technology Network: nten.org/
Nonprofit Toolkit: nonprofittoolkit.net
Service Corps of Retired Executives (S.C.O.R.E.): score.org
Small Business Administration: sba.gov/
The Chronicle of Philanthropy: philanthropy.com/
The Nonprofit Times: thenonprofittimes.com/
Volunteer Match Learning Center: learn.volunteermatch.org/

Product Donations and Discounts:

4imprint one by one promotional product grants: onebyone.4imprint.com/
Cashel: cashelcompany.com/Company/ContactUs.aspx
Craigslist Free Section
Dover Saddlery blanket donation program and In Kind donations: : doversaddlery.com/images/art/Horse%20Rescue%20Form.pdf
Feed Stores that discount or provide broken bags of feed to rescues
Jeffers Equine Wholesale Purchasing: jefferspet.com/pages/wholesale
Kroger Cares: kroger.com/communityrewards
National Cristina Foundation (used computer and other electronic hardware donations): cristina.org/
Purina Distributorship – discount pricing for ordering in bulk: Call 800-227-8941 and ask to speak to a representative for wholesale distribution licensing.
Realtors & Property Managers liquidating items left behind on rural property.
Saratoga Horseworks: horseworks.com/sponsorship_requests
State Line Tack Donation Program: statelinetack.com/statelinetack-articles/state-line-tack-donations/9885/
TechSoup (tech products, services and learning resources): techsoup.org

Safety Net Assistance including Vaccination/Gelding/Euthanasia:

AAEP (with Merck Animal Health) Vaccination and low cost euthanasia assistance programs: uhvrc.org/
After the Finish Line (Assistance to organizations that rescue Thoroughbreds): afterthefinishline.org/
ASPCA safety net support: aspcapro.org/grant/2013/02/11/aspca-equine-fund-grants
Best Friends Animal Society: email horses@bestfriends.org
Equine Protection Fund (NM) equineprotectionfund.org/programs.php
Front Range Equine Rescue (gelding and ET assistance): frontrangeequinerescue.org/front-range-equine-rescue-owner-assistance-programs.php
Hay Banks – the following hay banks offer assistance to qualified rescues as well as individuals:
Minnesota Hay Bank: minnesotahorsewelfare.org/hay-bank/
Michigan Hay Bank: michiganhorsewelfare.org/hay-bank
Oregon Hay Bank: equamore.org/oregon-hay-bank/
Heart of a Horse Foundation: heartofahorse.org/about/about-hoah/
National Equine Resource Network (Gelding): nationalequine.org/
One Horse At a Time: onehorseatatime.org/available-assistance.html
Red Rover (up to $2,000/year for hay): redrover.org/pet-food-pantry-assistance-grants
S. Trotting Association Standardbred Safety Net: lifeafterracing.ustrotting.com/standardbred-safety-net.cfm
Unwanted Horse Coalition (Gelding assistance): unwantedhorsecoalition.org/
Veterinary Colleges – You can find a list of all accredited veterinary colleges on the AVMA website: avma.org/ProfessionalDevelopment/Education/Accreditation/Colleges/Pages/colleges-accredited_results.aspx

Training Assistance:

Anna Twinney: reachouttohorses.com/
ASPCA Equine Fund training grants: aspcapro.org/grant/2013/02/11/aspca-equine-fund-grants
John Lyons Rescue Horse Program: worldsbesthorsetrainer.com/index.php/home/helping-rescued-horses
Parelli Foundation: parellifoundation.org
Retired Racehorse Project: retiredracehorseproject.org
The HSUS Forever Foundation: humanesociety.org/news/news_briefs/2014/04/plan4progress-040714.html?referrer=www.google.com/
Trainer Challenges:
Colt Starting Challenge USA: coltstartingchallengeusa.com/The-Challenge.html
Equine Comeback Challenge: ahomeforeveryhorse.com/equine-comeback-challenge/

Transportation Assistance:

Equine Rescue Network: equinerescuenetwork.com/index.php/rescue-101/transporting-your-rescue
Fleet of Angels: fleetofangels.org/
Whorley’s Hauling (offer discounts to rescues): worleyshauling.com/

Volunteers:

AmeriCorps: nationalservice.gov
Asana (free team management software): asana.com/
Energize (Volunteer Management Resources): energizeinc.com
Help Exchange: helpx.net/
Idealist (volunteers and volunteer management resources): idealist.org
Linkedin for Nonprofits: nonprofits.linkedin.com/find-volunteers
Taproot (Pro Bono services matching site): taprootplus.org/
Volunteer Match: volunteermatch.org
Volgistics (Volunteer management software): volgistics.com/
Work Away: workaway.info/hostlist-US.html